Royal Society Summer Science Exhibition: the Waterfall app

Waterfall screenshot

A team of researchers from the London Centre for Nanotechnology and the Thomas Young Centre have developed an iPhone application; a game called 'Waterfall'. It's available for free from iTunes or via:

The game is described as follows: "The ice caps are melting, you have to rebuild them one water molecule at a time! Waterfall is a simple, fun, and highly addictive game that teaches you about ice and nanoscience."

Professor John Finney featured in The Journal of Chemical Physics Editors' Choice for 2009

John Finney

The Editors at The Journal of Chemical Physics facilitate publication of the most innovative and influential articles in the field of Chemical Physics each year. In a recent edition, the Editors selected a few of the many notable JCP articles published in 2009 that present ground-breaking research and amongst them is a paper by LCN’s Prof. John Finney.

Professor Gabriel Aeppli elected Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS)

Gabriel Aeppli

Professor Gabriel Aeppli, co-director of the LCN and Quain Professor of Physics in the UCL Department of Physics and Astronomy, is one of 44 new Fellows of the Royal Society elected in 2010.

The Royal Society is the UK’s national academy of science and election as a Fellow is one of the highest honours than can be attained by a scientist working in the UK. The Royal Society’s citation accompanying the announcement reads:

Professor Steve Bramwell awarded the 2010 Holweck Prize & Medal

Steve Bramwell

Professor Steve Bramwell of the LCN has won the 2010 Holweck Medal and Prize, one of the most prestigious awards in European Physics. The Holweck prize is awarded jointly by the French and British Physical Societies. Previous 
winners include five Nobel Laureates - Louis Néel, Alfred Kastler, Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, Dennis Gabor and Brian David Josephson.

Nicholas Kurti European Science Prize awarded for research on exotic magnetic matter

Phase diagram of spin ladder

Dr Christian Ruegg of the LCN was awarded the 2010 Nicholas Kurti European Science Prize for his pioneering work on quantum phase transitions and novel phases in magnetic materials. With this prestigious prize Oxford Instruments recognizes outstanding research by a young scientist using high magnetic fields and low temperatures.

The prize is named after Prof Nicholas Kurti, a Hungarian-born physicist known for his distinguished work in ultra-low temperature physics at University of Oxford and his contributions to molecular gastronomy.

UKSPM 2010

Speaker / Host: 
Wednesday, 30 June 2010 (All day) to Thursday, 1 July 2010 (All day)

The Royal Microscopical Society in collaboration with the London Centre for Nanotechnology organised the UK Scanning Probe Microscopy conference at MICROSCIENCE.  The conference covered a wide range of topics associated with Scanning Probe Microscopy including main techniques such as atomic force microscopy and scanning tunnelling microscopy as well as more specialised versions.


Subscribe to London Centre for Nanotechnology RSS