Professor Des McMorrow granted visiting Professorship at DTU

Professor Des McMorrow

The Otto Mønsted Foundation has awarded a three-month visiting professorship to the Department of Physics at DTU to Professor Des McMorrow from the London Centre for Nanotechnology.

Niels Bech Christensen from the Neutrons and X-rays for Materials Physics (NEXMAP) section secured the funding professorship which will take place in 2013.

Professor McMorrow is among the world's leading X-ray and neutron scientists. His research revolves around the basic understanding of quantum magnetic effects at ultra-low temperatures and on the crucial role played by magnetism in functional materials such as high-temperature superconductors and ferroelectrics. He is a co-author of a world-leading text-book on x-ray physics, ”Elements of Modern X-ray Physics”, and has made significant contributions to method and instrument development at large scale research facilities, such as the neutron- and synchrotron x-ray sources ISIS and Diamond in the United Kingdom.

During his stay, Professor McMorrow will give a lecture-series for researchers and students on the use of x-rays and neutrons in modern materials research. It is expected that his stay at DTU Physics will stimulate cooperation between UCL and several research units at DTU. At the same time, it will significantly strengthen DTU’s role in relation to the large x-ray and neutron-facilities, that in the years to come will open in Lund (European Spallation Source, ESS and the MAX-IV synchrotron) and Hamburg (European Free Electron Laser, XFEL), and in which DTU is involved in several instrument-development projects.