LCN scientist wins major European scattering prize

Christian Ruegg giving his prize lecture

Dr Christian Rüegg, honorary professor at the LCN and head of the Laboratory for Neutron Scattering at the Paul Scherrer Institut in Switzerland, wins the Erwin Felix Levy-Bertaut prize for his work on low-dimensional quantum spin systems and quantum phase transitions. The prize is awarded jointly by the European Crystallographic Association ECA and the European Neutron Scattering Association ENSA to a young scientist in memoriam of Erwin Felix Levy-Bertaut, who was one of the pioneers in Europe investigating atomic and magnetic structures by neutron and X-ray diffraction.

Christian received the prize from the chairman of ENSA Prof. Michael Steiner (Helmholtz-Centre Berlin) at the European Neutron Scattering Conference ECNS in Prague last week and delivered his prize lecture on "The Crystallography of Quantum Magnets". After Tom Fennell in 2010 for studies of spin ice materials, it is already for the second time that the Levy-Bertaut prize is awarded in recognition of ground breaking work done in close collaboration with the LCN using high-precision scattering techniques.

European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA)