INASCON – the International Nanoscience Student Conference

INASCON Conference 2013

19th-22nd August 2013, London, UK

Organised by 7 PhD students from the London Centre for Nanotechnology at University College London with support from the Swiss Nanoscience Institute, the University of Cambridge NanoDTC, Imperial College London, Nature Nanotechnology, the Knowledge Transfer Network, Bio Nano Consulting, Thorlabs and Lockheed Martin.

The INASCON is an annual conference organised by students for students, being held each year in different international locations. The goal of the conference is to offer a platform for final year graduate and post-graduate students from the international community to exchange ideas, whilst building their academic network. Students gain insight into state-of-the-art nanoscience through lectures and workshops, and get the opportunity to present their research alongside world-renowned scientists.

The conference timetable featured a programme tailored to suit the student attendees from a broad range of nanoscience-related research interests. 25 students presented talks on their research and 59 participated in a poster competition. Workshops were delivered to coach the attendees in scientific publishing, computational skills, entrepreneurial skills and teaching. These were complemented by scientific research talks from world-renowned scientists.

In total, 95 students from 14 countries across 3 continents attended. The organising committee comprised of 4 different nationalities. The feedback was distinctively positive with ~80% of attendees rating their overall experience of INASCON 2013 as excellent or very good.

The organising committee would like to say a special thanks to all sponsors and speakers. We would also like to acknowledge the support of the following LCN faculty and administrative staff: Prof. Steve Bramwell, Gosia Janczak, Nipa Patel, Rosie Baverstock-West, Denise Ottley, Prof. Rachel McKendry, Prof. Sandrine Heutz, Sima Fulford, Prof. Milo Shaffer and Prof. Gabriel Aeppli.

Other contributors
Michael Gerspach