Head of LCN elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Update this image alt text please

The LCN Head of Department, Prof. Gabriel Aeppli, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences Class of Members 2012 – joining Paul McCartney, Hillary Rodham Clinton, Clint Eastwood, Andre Previn and other well known and distinguished figures from the world of Arts and Sciences.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

“Election to the Academy is both an honor for extraordinary accomplishment and a call to serve,” said Academy President Leslie C. Berlowitz. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day.”

An alphabetical list of the 220 new members is located at: http://www.amacad.org/news/alphalist2012.pdf. The new class listed by discipline is located at: http://www.amacad.org/news/classlist2012.pdf.

Members of the 2012 class include winners of the National Medal of Science, the Lasker Award, the Pulitzer and the Shaw prizes, the Fields Medal; MacArthur and Guggenheim fellowships; the Kennedy Center Honors; Grammy, Emmy, Academy, and Tony awards; the Avery Fisher Prize, and election to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 6, at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding in 1780, the Academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the eighteenth century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the nineteenth, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the twentieth. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.