The Bragg Lecture Series

About the W.H. Bragg Lecture

In 2004 UCL's Department of Physics and Astronomy decided to establish a series of annual lectures celebrating major advances in condensed matter physics. The series was named after William Henry Bragg, who was the Head of Department from 1915 to 1923. X-ray diffraction analysis of crystal structures began with W. H. Bragg’s instrumentation and insight, and with the availability of synchrotron sources it has developed into an important tool in modern biology.

Previous speakers:

2012 - Prof Charles Kane (University of Pennsylvania) [more]
2011 - Prof Henry Chapman (Center for Free-Electron Laser Science) [more]
2010 - Prof Andre Geim (University of Manchester)  [more]
2009 - Prof Herman Gaub (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München) [more]
2008 - Prof Sujio Iijima (Meijo University) [more]
2007 - Dr Don Eigler (IBM Almaden) [more]
2006 - Dr David Moncton (MIT)
2005 - Prof Jens Als-Nielsen (Niels Bohr Institute)
2004 - Prof Wayne Hendrickson (Columbia University)