LCN Athena Swan

Launched in June 2005, the Athena SWAN charter recognises and celebrates good employment practices for women working in higher education and research. It aims to assist the recruitment, retention and promotion of women in STEMM and promote good practice.

Athena SWAN was originally aimed at women's progression in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM), and the majority of UCL STEMM departments hold Athena SWAN awards. From April 2015, has been opened up to departments in Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Business and Law departments.

UCL is committed to the aims and princples of Athena SWAN and was one of the first Universities to sign up to the scheme. UCL was awarded its first University wide bronze award in 2006, and has since renewed this award in 2009 and 2012.  

The London Centre for Nanotechnology is committed to the principles and beliefs of the Equality Challenge Unit (ECU) Athena Swan Charter and we have begun the process of applying for an Athena Swan Bronze Award. 

ECU’s Athena SWAN Charter encourages and recognises advancement of gender equality in STEMM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Maths and Medicine), and has expanded to recognise work undertaken in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students. 

The Athena SWAN awards process enables university departments to develop an action plan aimed at improving recruitment, retention and promotion of diversity among its staff, and with a growing focus on Athena Swan as a prerequisite for research funding, it has significant financial implications. 

In order to maintain research excellence and stay competitive in an ever-changing field, it is crucial that the LCN is a supportive working environment conducive to career progression, and reaches as wide and diverse a talent pool as possible. Equality and diversity initiatives such as Athena Swan are crucial to achieving these aims and we are dedicated to ensuring the LCN is a place of equal opportunities for all. 

The LCN Athena Swan Self-Assessment Team (SAT) was formed on a voluntary basis and currently has 14 members, with balanced representation across gender, age, academic positions and training, research disciplines and support staff. The SAT also benefits from Harriet Jones (UCL’s central Policy and Athena Swan departments), who has an advisory role.

A full list of SAT members can be found below:

    Andrew Fisher    Director at LCN and Professor, LCN and UCL Physics & Astronomy

Rachel McKendry Professor, LCN and UCL Division of Medicine, Director of EPSRC i-sense

  Dorothy Duffy Professor, LCN and UCL Physics and Astronomy

     Andrew Green     Professor, LCN

Laura Bovo
Leverhulme Early Career Fellow, LCN

Steve Bramwell Professor, LCN and UCL Physics and Astronomy

Holly Hedgeland  Leverhulme Early Career Fellow, LCN

     Rodolfo Hermans Research Associate, LCN
Isabel Bennett
PhD Student, LCN and UCL Division of Medicine
        Phil Crowley         PhD Student, LCN        Manuel Siegl         PhD Student, LCN and UCL Physics

  Erika Rosivatz Departmental Manager, LCN

 Kailey Nolan Communications Officer, EPSRC i-sense and Athena Swan Officer, LCN

  Andrew Gormanly Manager of Information Systems, LCN


Should you wish to discuss, or contribute to the LCN Athena Swan Application, please contact LCN Athena Swan Officer Kailey Nolan.